Blogmas

Blogmas day 13: I’ve lived the William Thacker life

* Heads up: I write these posts the same day as I’ve lived them, so I’m too tired to read and reread. Typos are inevitable. *

Hallooooo!!

Today was such an amazing, exciting day! I got to go to THE press junket for Star Wars the Last Jedi.

If you’re unfamiliar with the term ‘press junket’, it is basically a way to promote a film. The actors and quite often the director as well, will speak to 100 upon 100 of journalists for about 4 minutes each. It’s a bit like speed dating, but only the journalist gets to ask questions.

The junket was helt at a hotel near Embankment in London. The walk through the long corridor to the room I had to check in, really reminded me of Notting Hill 😀 Where William goes to see Anna Scott at the Ritz and ends up at a press junket :p

 

It was a long day, but I can imagine it was even longer for the actors and the people who organised the junket. I had to take the first Eurostar to London, check in and wait my turn for the interviews. After the interviews, I had a train back home and that is it.

Even though I am knackered, I’m so happy as well. Today I got to interview Daisy Ridley, aka Rey. Andy Serkis, who plays Supreme Leader Snoke and Domhnall Gleeson who plays General Hux. And finally I was able to have a chat with director Rian Johnson. Oh, and with R2-D2 and BB-8 ^^

R2-D2 and BB-8 Star Wars the Last Jedi
BB-8 and R2-D2

The press junket itself was complete chaos though. Nobody really knew when they were going to interview their people, so you just had to wait around for your name to called. Because of this, I missed my first train back home 😦 Luckily, I got help from the home front and I was booked a train 2 hours later.

IMG_20171213_133640.jpg

This is my 2nd press junket, and I do hope many more are to come. It is honestly the course I’d like to take with my career.

The interview will go online this weekend, so I should imagine I’ll included the video in my blog post on Monday 18th December 🙂 Oh, and I’ve also written a review, if you’re interested.

That is it for blogmas day 13. Probably thé most exciting thing that will happen this month. Hell, this year :p

Thanks for reading!

xo – Sara

2 thoughts on “Blogmas day 13: I’ve lived the William Thacker life”

Leave a comment